How To: Make Gmail Send Automated Responses To Anyone

14 05 2007

SOURCE: Ask Lifehacker: Set up a filtered response in Gmail? – Lifehacker

File this one under, “I can’t believe I didn’t think of it first“.  I could kick myself this is so simple.

Here’s the tutorial from lifehaker:

 From here on out, I’ll refer to you main Gmail account as Gmail 1 and your second as Gmail 2 (could it get more complicated?).

  1. Set up a filter in Gmail 1 that forwards messages to Gmail 2 that you want to send the auto-response to.
  2. Head over to Gmail 2 and go to the Accounts settings tab. You need to add your Gmail 1 address to your Gmail 2 account so that Gmail 2 can send messages as Gmail 1. Then set Gmail 1 as your default account in Gmail 2. This way all messages you send from Gmail 2 will still look like they’re coming from Gmail 1.
  3. Set up a Vacation responder in Gmail 2. Done!

Now when you receive a message from the sender you want to always auto-respond to, Gmail 1 will forward the message to Gmail 2, which will automatically send out your pre-defined response as though it’s coming straight from Gmail 1.

SEE!!!  Its so simple.  You set up a filter on one gmail account to autoforward emails to another account that has the vacation responder on with the message of your choice.  I still can’t believe I didn’t think of this.

Good on Ya Lifehacker, you got one up on me.


Actions

Information

5 responses

27 05 2007
Savvas Kyriakidis

Is that an automated response? I did not put my particulars in these fields myself. They were put automatically as you sent. I was looking for automatic response in another context. But just for the heck of it I give you this note. I will look at it more thorougly some other time.

All the best

28 10 2007
kellybbelly

hey all, I was just wondering if those get paid to answer surveys sites are legit or not. any have experience? please share, thanks
kelly

4 11 2007
randirhodez

So I caught my husband looking at live adult webcams.
what do i do? punish him?
thanks for advice,
randi

6 11 2007
francinedd

I was wondering what some of the more mature members here do about dating. It seems much harder for older singles to find a mate, so I might be turning to online dating for older singles.
any suggestions? thanks.

15 06 2012
Ronaldinho

you’re in point of fact a good webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a wonderful job on this matter!

Leave a Reply

