An entirely unlikely fix for the iPod Clicking Sound of Doom

12 09 2006

An entirely unlikely fix for the iPod Clicking Sound of Doom | Daemon.co.za

Mad props to Daemon for finding this out.

I did it and it actually worked!!!!

Here’s the “Fix” –

“hold the ipod facing you, and give it a medium-power whack on its upper right side.
from right to left
Whack!
I had the evil unhappy click a couple of times and the above thwack method brought it back to me”

I am now in the process of backing EVERYTHING up onmy iPod.


Actions

Information

33 responses

14 06 2008
Simon

Shit man, it WORKS!!
genius

20 06 2008
josh

HOLY SHNITZLE IT WORKED!

20 06 2008
josh

so what do i do afterwards?

20 06 2008
josh

i plug it in and it just goes back to the way it was with the same screen and the clicking.

this method temporally fixes the ipod.

11 01 2009
ed

totally cr@zy– it works! most unlikely hack i’ve ever used

27 05 2009
dandeana

woah!! it sounds rather wacky but it sure does work!! thanks!! the clicking sound is gone..

1 10 2009
Gabbiex24

Thank you so so much!

14 10 2009
kap

i can’t thank you enough…
this worked

20 10 2009
Rustyfrets

Amazing..worked on my old 40GB 3G. I tried everything else..thank you!!!

27 10 2009
jenncita

OMG — totally worked. Tried EVERYTHING else. Did it with my hand a few times and it didn’t work, so I tried holding the iPod horizontally and tapping it against the side of my bookcase. The iPod was off and unplugged. Worked like a charm — just came on by itself!

I notice I only get to these dire straights when the battery gets utterly spent because the iPod was in my pocket without the hold switch on. The constant butting up against keys/cell phone, etc. makes it keep turning on even when the battery’s nearly dead. Then, it gets so dead it can’t even wake up enough to charge itself properly. This did it, though!

4 11 2009
Eagle

Great advise.
Worked good.
I could feel the drive work and then the popping noise. Gave her a knuckle up the top Right side and it worked great. Didn’t even need to reset…WOW!!!

28 11 2009
Dracula Jones

This actually worked for me! My iPod has been Sad Face for days now. One good whack and it seems to be working again (for now). THANKS!

25 12 2009
ralph

incredible. i dropped my ipod a year ago (one of the many times), and it wouldn’t turn on and only made a clicking noise (followed by a humble beep. i assumed then that it was dead. i was too lazy to go out and fix it, so i forewent my 18 gigs of music and listened to songs on youtube, reminiscing about happier, music-filled days. on break, i decided tonight to do see if this was a common problem or if it was something irreparable. i banged my ipod hard against my palm, just like you said, and it now works. so there is a god, and i guess he looks after those who look after themselves. thanks to you and your uncanny insight into the innerworkings of this mysterious little machine.

4 03 2010
JD

Holy Crap!!!

4 06 2010
allison

wow. THANK YOU. i feel like marty mcfly when he gets the car to start.

4 06 2010
Nick

Aggghhh! After two hours of trying to get my iPod to work, this FINALLY worked. iTunes had frozen, and nothing was working. I even tried to format my iPod in Disk Manager. Alas, nothing had worked. Until I found this. I whacked it on both sides, and BOOM! Windows detected the iPod, and everything works now. Thank you SOO MUCH!

6 06 2010
Sherry

I couldn’t have said it better myself Nick. I had the exact same issue with my old click wheel. Thank you techies.

24 06 2010
Brent

Wow…just, wow.
Problem just started a few weeks back on my iPod that I’ve had since 2002 (I think 4g? clickwheel but no color screen).

Amazingly fixed, and also kudos to google’s auto complete cause that helped me find the “clicking sound of doom”. Awesome, thanks.

2 08 2010
Grimm

Wtf… I thought this was a sick joke or something…

10 09 2010
tuan

HAHAHA IT WORKS

18 09 2010
Ron from Toronto, Canada

Ridiculous, but it works. Didn’t work the first time for me, but I was patient and it eventually came through. Make sure you are trying to play some music (if you can even get that far on your iPod) so that you’ll know when it starts working. Amazing!! Thank you.

13 10 2010
Rock

Outstanding…

Just when I thought I was going to have to dish out more green for another apple piece of crap…AWSOME!!!

P.S Apple beats the alternative…Zune…enough said

17 10 2010
shey

I can’t believe it really worked

20 12 2010
Jem

ROFL. I cannot believe this actually worked.

My boss just gave me his wive’s ipod to try and fix – assuming he’d have to buy a new one. I tried this.. it friggin worked. Unbelievable! Thank you so much xD

22 04 2011
Marty

This doesn’t work at all.

7 07 2011
michellelapinski

Holy shit. I thought this was stupid. Then I did it after reading it. IT FRICKIN WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was seeing dollar signs before this. THANKS MAN!!!!!!!!!

28 07 2011
malcolm savage

Genius! Many thanks

31 08 2011
Rory

Didn’t work for me at all. Any other suggestions?

3 09 2011
David

HOLY MOTHERFUCKER!!
You saved my LIFE with this!! I had tons of rare recordings. Though they were lost forever.

I kiss your feet.

29 09 2011
Don B

Another satisfied customer. Sept 29 2011
Thank you.
How do we back up all our iPOD files to PC?
I believe there is a way to do that.

25 02 2012
ivanhoe19

That is unbelievable. Was about to trash my old ipod and there you go – a couple of whacks and its fixed!

Thank you
Feb2012

28 03 2012
Calum

YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!! THANKS SO MUCH!!!!

15 06 2012
Ronaldinho

Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related info ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task.

Leave a Reply

